Local Newspaper of State College, PA
This newspaper is circulated in State College and all of Centre County, as well as areas of the surrounding counties - Blair, Clearfield, Clinton, Huntington, and Mifflin. This region covers both rural and urban areas, as well as all of Pennsylvania State University's main campus at University Park (a market of 40,000 students). The newspaper is targeted to those of liberal and conservative beliefs in the hopes to reach a balance that will please all readers.
Readership: 61,000 daily; 67,000 Sunday
Average Monthly Page Views/Unique Visitors: 3 million page views, or 500,000 unique visitors
Type of Advertisement: Professional Services
Business Opportunities Insurance Pets/Supplies Auto Parts and Accessories Merchandise ($1000 & Up) Merchandise ($999 & Less) Automobiles Real Estate | Price:
$145.40 $140.40 $140.50 $63.65 $51.90 $63.95 $47.91 $38.03 - $70.30 $135.64 | These prices are what is listed for their "best" option of advertising package, which includes a certain time period (ranging from 7 days to 30 days) of both in print and online advertisement for a given product or service. The cost of web-only advertisements, which last 7, 14, or 30 days, is $15.00 for almost all types of advertising. For real estate, the cost of an online-only ad is $49.00 |
The CPM (cost per thousand impressions) varies depending on the type of advertisement, but remains pretty close to 6 cents per thousand impressions for all types, especially with online advertising.
Example: Merchandise ($999 & Less):
$47.91 for 10 days online and in print.
Sunday readers + daily readers + webpage views = 1(67,000) + 9(60,000) + 500,000/3 = 773,666 impressions 773,666/1,000 = 774 thousand impressions.
CPM = $47.91/ 774 = $0.06
Example: Professional Services:
$145.40 for 30 days online and in print.
Sunday readers + daily readers + webpage views = 4(67,000) + 26(60,000) + 500,000 = 2,328,000 impressions
2,328,000/1,000 = 2,328 thousand impressions.
CPM = $145.40/2,328 = $0.06/impression
Online:
$15.00 for 14 days of advertising
webpage views = 500,000/2 = 250,000 impressions
250,000/1,000 = 250 thousand impressions
CPM = $15.00/250 = $0.06
There is not option to have the newspaper create an ad for you, so you need to do it yourself. It is, however, easy to use their website to make an ad, and there are options for benefits such as graphics and feature ad placement for a small additional cost ($1 - $15).
Example: Merchandise ($999 & Less):
$47.91 for 10 days online and in print.
Sunday readers + daily readers + webpage views = 1(67,000) + 9(60,000) + 500,000/3 = 773,666 impressions 773,666/1,000 = 774 thousand impressions.
CPM = $47.91/ 774 = $0.06
Example: Professional Services:
$145.40 for 30 days online and in print.
Sunday readers + daily readers + webpage views = 4(67,000) + 26(60,000) + 500,000 = 2,328,000 impressions
2,328,000/1,000 = 2,328 thousand impressions.
CPM = $145.40/2,328 = $0.06/impression
Online:
$15.00 for 14 days of advertising
webpage views = 500,000/2 = 250,000 impressions
250,000/1,000 = 250 thousand impressions
CPM = $15.00/250 = $0.06
There is not option to have the newspaper create an ad for you, so you need to do it yourself. It is, however, easy to use their website to make an ad, and there are options for benefits such as graphics and feature ad placement for a small additional cost ($1 - $15).